Posted on

King Jackalope

Pencil, Photoshop.

I thought Matt’s rabbit girl portrait from last week was incredible. It was surprising yet grounded in his personal style, a step in some bizarre direction I hadn’t thought of. Amazing.

For my response, I chose to depict my spirit animal, the mighty jackalope, in a king’s robes and crown. Originally it was going to be a little doodle, a jackalope with wings: I guess the rainy day made me take the whole thing a little more seriously. I also drew a little banner that said “King of Real”, but I couldn’t make it fit, and after a while it didn’t mean anything to me, so it got the boot.

My concentration for this piece was the color palette- I tried to keep the colors light in order to highlight both the negative space and the deep red of the robe. I had a rich purple background at one point, but I kept coming back to the white- even the blue was left in grudgingly to add a bit of depth.

I’m actually sort of in love with this piece.

About Mike

I'm an ER nurse by day, artist type by night. Hi!

One response to “King Jackalope

  1. Jefferson McCarley ⋅

    Wow. I’m sort of in love with this piece too. I’m reminded of the Jackalopes I used to see in the piney woods of East Texas. With out the crown and robe of course.

    Seriously, I love it. The cape makes the composition so interesting.

Leave a comment