Posted on

Me…?

ImageI LOVED Matt’s last post; even though I didn’t comment on it I thought it was thought-provoking and beautifully rendered. I decided to try a self-portrait as well. I started with pencil, laid out the colors with watercolor pencils, washed ’em, waited for that to dry, layered some regular colored pencils over that and finished with some touches in pen. No Photoshop was involved in the making of this image…what? True. I think it looks like a weird mashup of Michael Jackson and James Dean with a teense of the Bieber in there somewhere, but YOU try a self portrait. It’s hard! This was actually my third go at it, and I like the looseness of it, the “fuck it” aspect that makes it interesting.

About Mike

I'm an ER nurse by day, artist type by night. Hi!

2 responses to “Me…?

  1. Matt ⋅

    I love this! And the title is so appropriate, because the look on your face is like someone just asked you a hard question!

    I think the only reason you are seeing the Justin Bieber/Michael Jackson thing is that collar! What is that jacket, dude?!

    My favorite thing about self-portraiture is there is no way to hide our own opinions of ourselves in the work, so I’ve been looking at this to figure out what you’re saying about yourself.

    It’s a treat to see you working without photoshop. I like seeing the dirty evidence of your hands on the paper. It helps me visualize you working, with all the grittyness and drawi-ness and texture.

  2. this is fabulous fabulous.

Leave a comment